ABURY FOUNDATION STORY

150.jpg

2011

ESTABLISHMENT OF THE ABURY FOUNDATION

When Andrea Bury first came to Marrakech in 2007 to renovate an old house in the Medina (old part of town), she was quickly fascinated by the extraordinary skills of the artisans. She immerses herself in the culture and gets to know the people. She discovers many wonderful things, but she is also quickly confronted with the challenges of the country, for example, the high illiteracy rate, mainly among women and especially among those who live in rural areas. Among them, it is up to 70 percent. In addition, women participate little in the labour force and are thus dependent. Cheap imports are also a major problem, leading to a drop in the prices of handicrafts. "It's so unfair that people with such wonderful skills don't have the opportunity to earn a living with them," runs through Andrea's mind. Very close to her heart is the empowerment of women and the creation of a fairer world through social entrepreneurship and partnership at eye level. In 2011, the time had come and she founded the ABURY Collection GmbH and the ABURY Foundation gGmbH. With ABURY Collection GmbH, she has high-quality designer accessories produced by artisans in Morocco and sells them internationally. She reinvests 50 per cent of the profits through the ABURY Foundation gGmbH in educational and community projects for the local people and communities.

2011

FIRST INTERCULTURAL EDUCATION PROJECT
The remote Berber villages in Morocco's Atlas Mountains are scattered, largely isolated and women and children in particular lack access to education and exchange. This is why the ABURY Foundation, together with the organisation PENCILS FOR KIDS, is starting an intercultural project week at the school in the Douar Anzal community. In addition to various workshops designed to promote the children's creativity, the programme includes painting, photography and playing together for the local children and their guests from the USA and Spain. As part of the project week, a library has been set up with donated children's books, school materials, notebooks and pens. Each child took home a framed photo as a souvenir of this week full of fun, laughter and new friendships.


 

IMG_1124.JPG
Untitled-1.jpg

2012

LEATHER EMBROIDERY TRAINING CENTRE
To combat the high youth unemployment in Morocco, ABURY Fopundation set up a training centre for young women in Marrakech in 2011, where a tailor couple taught them traditional leather embroidery. In 2011 and 2012, 20 girls and young women have been  given the opportunity to acquire the basics for long-term employment.

2013

LITERACY PROGRAMME FOR WOMEN
When the ABURY Foundation started working in Morocco's Atlas Mountains in 2012, it conducted a study on the level of education. One result states that 80 percent of the women there are illiterate. Therefore, she established a literacy programme for women in the village of Douar Anzal, which still exists today. With the help of the non-profit project LABDOO, which collects IT donations and thus enables people without access to computers to receive education in this important field, the programme participants can practise what they have learned on the computer and thus get in touch with the new technologies.

323.jpg
Captura de ecrã 2015-11-27, às 15.40.2

2013

FOUNDING A PRESCHOOL
The ABURY Foundation's Educational Attainment Survey also showed that children between the ages of 6 and 16 have more positive outcomes than adults: over 90 per cent attend school. However, pre-school education is non-existent with the result that many children start school unprepared and also leave after only six years to work. Hence the overall low level of education. "That's why we started a preschool in Douar Anzal - initially with 12 children," says Andrea Bury.  "In 2016, we already count 32 children in our class, with another 25 from neighbouring villages on the waiting list. Our teacher confirms that the children from our preschool are the best students in primary school. They dream of becoming doctors or lawyers."

2014

CHAIRS FOR THE SCHOOL
Since the establishment of the ABURY Foundation School in Douar Anzal, more and more parents are enrolling their children there, so that in 2014 even the seating is becoming scarce. Thanks to donations from numerous supporters, the school is receiving new chairs. The special thing about this campaign is that all the chairs are colourfully painted by the school children and labelled with the names of the donors. The motto is: sit colourfully and learn happily for a bright start into a better future!

stuhlaktion_andregaspar.png
2013-08-30 15.02.32.jpg

2014

FIRST ENVIRONMENTAL PROJECT
Like everywhere else in the world, growing mountains of plastic waste combined with a lack of waste disposal systems are a real problem in Morocco's Atlas Mountains. This is why the ABURY Foundation is launching the environmental initiative "Keep your village clean!" in September, which aims to raise awareness of environmental protection and sustainability among school children. This is done both in class and during joint waste collection activities, which are now even playful competitions. Whoever collects the most rubbish wins. And that means the admiration and respect of their fellow pupils.

2015

WELL INAUGURATION
Many areas in Morocco's Atlas Mountains have a low water table, which makes the supply of drinking water extremely difficult. Women and children walk up to five kilometres to the nearest drinking water source every day, leaving little time for education and paid work. Therefore, the ABURY Foundation decides to build a well in Douar Anzal. Four years pass from the analysis of the water quality in cooperation with INGENIEURE WITHOUT FRONTIERS to the installation of an environmentally friendly solar pump. "At the inauguration ceremony, the whole village is on its feet," reports Andrea Bury, who is of course present and gives a speech. "Our thanks go especially to Hamid Ouffata. His donation and his incredible technical knowledge made the construction possible in the first place."

featured image.jpg

2015

THE DENTIST COMES TO THE SCHOOL
In Morocco, 42.2 percent of children aged 12 already suffer from periodontitis. This gum disease is caused by a high sugar consumption combined with careless tooth brushing behaviour, which is often exemplified by the parents.* Therefore, Heike and Holger Janssen visit the ABURY Foundation School in Douar Anzal together with their children and bring 180 toothbrushes and as many tubes of toothpaste with them: "We have travelled here to supplement school education with topics such as dental hygiene and nutrition. We want to discuss with the children and their parents the consequences of high sugar consumption and what toothpaste does. They also learn from us how to brush teeth properly.* Holger is a dentist and has brought the tooth crocodile with him for this purpose. This way, the widespread fear of the dentist doesn't even arise. For Holger and Heike, the focus is on having fun while learning and helping each other.


*Atlas Dental - Africa 2020" | GFDI

2015

PORTRAID.ORG - ART AIDED CHARITY PROJECT
Together with the famous advertising photographer Thomas Rusch, the ABURY Foundation has launched the art charity project PortrAID. The idea is simple: a well-known photographer takes a portrait of a person in need, the ABURY Foundation sells the unique piece and uses the proceeds to directly help the portrayed person solve his or her problem.
The initial spark for this idea came to Andrea during one of her visits to museums in Marrakech: there, works of art are sold for the benefit of the ARTISANS SANS CATARACT Foundation. The proceeds enable artisans suffering from cataracts to have free operations. Eye disease is a major problem in Morocco - over 45,000 people go blind every year because they cannot afford the operation. More information on this and other projects in Morocco and Ethiopia is available on the
PortrAID website.

© ilyastriba+thomasrusch__ITP9874.jpg
©_ThomasRusch__MG_0635.jpg

2016

SCHOOL BACKPACKS FULL OF HOPE
Thanks to the generous donations of ABURY Foundation supporters, the children of the Berber village of Douar Anzal are starting the 2016 school year with a colourful backpack. The #givebackPACKS initiative, launched via BETTERPLACE.ORG in 2015, is bringing smiles to the faces of 30 happy and proud schoolchildren and helping them on their way to a hopeful future.

2016

STREET ART MEETS TRADITION
Are we slowly merging into a global identity that erodes our unique and beautiful cultural differences? How do these changes affect our future and the future of our generations? These questions are buzzing through Andrea's head when she comes to Marrakech in 2008. For Andrea, each handmade Berber bag is a symbol of Morocco's cultural heritage that seemed to be lost to consumerism - each a small piece of cultural identity that is no longer valued. This is how the art project "Pass on the Flame", which will be exhibited at the MARRAKECH BIENNALE in 2016, is born. Andrea wants to know what modern, young artists think about it today. She starts a cooperation with MB6 STREET ARTISTS and Vestalia Chilton, founder and director of Kensington + Chelsea Art Week. Six street artists will receive a Berberbag along with a letter from Andrea and the questions above. The artists are asked to work on the bags and to present their thoughts on the topic of cultural identity in the future - "passing on the flame", so to speak. In this way, six extraordinary individual pieces will be created, which will first be exhibited and then auctioned off for the benefit of the ABURY Foundation. The artists will also come to Douar Anzal and transform the school into a work of art.

P5181789Eva Padberg in der Schule.JPG

2016

VISIT FROM EVA PADBERG
When top model and designer Eva Padberg and Andrea Bury met by chance through a mutual friend, one thing was immediately clear: they share the view that fashion should be ethically produced. And so Eva accepts Andrea's invitation to see the work of the ABURY Foundation on site: "When I bring Eva to our school, everyone is beside themselves, children and adults alike. Eva inspires everyone with her way of approaching people." And so a village festival is soon underway. There is a lot of singing, laughing, dancing, eating and talking. "That is our goal, to promote exchange and understanding," says Andrea Bury happily.

2016

CYCLING FOR A GOOD CAUSE
The schoolchildren in Douar Anzal are amazed: visitors normally come to the village by car and have previously been on a plane to travel to Morocco - not so Marcus Lehman, a sports therapist from Berlin, who is cycling the whole distance within six weeks to collect donations for the children of the village on the way. His goal is to build a sports field and integrate sports lessons into the school curriculum. To achieve this goal, he even teaches the teacher, Lahcen Ididi. But Marcus has even more in his luggage: in addition to lots of good humour and ideas for fun in sports, he also brings the children sports equipment and clothing. And one thing is for sure: in the jerseys with badges of well-known teams like the French first division team Paris St. Germain, the proud children feel like the football stars of tomorrow - after all, football plays a big role in Morocco. Motivation enough to integrate sport into their everyday lives. "Besides training children, we also take care of their health, of course," says Andrea Bury.

_MG_5912.jpg
DS_Teppich_intern.jpg

2017

DOROTHEE SCHUMACHER AND THE BERBER CARPETS
The weaving of Berber carpets has a long tradition in Morocco, passed down through the generations. For as long as they can remember, the women of Douar Anzal have also been making hand-woven carpets. They are excited about the idea of using their skills to start their own small business and become self-sufficient and independent. No sooner said than done: the ABURY Foundation finds a partner in the German designer Dorothee Schumacher, who supports the women of Douar Anzal not only with her expertise but also with a donation for a weaving frame. Her designs are transformed by the Moroccan women into beautiful, traditionally hand-woven Berber carpets, which henceforth adorn Dorothee Schumacher's showrooms. A great advertisement for the sale of these high-quality Moroccan handicraft products.

2018

NAMIKA'S MUSIC SCHOOL
Many children in Morocco and elsewhere are not allowed to live their creativity freely, even though the development of artistic talent is so important for their development. "That's why we want to start a music school and have asked Namika, a well-known German rapper with Moroccan roots, to help us." Andrea's announcement causes a state of emergency in Douar Anzal, because such a hip hop star is already something very special. The children love music and can't wait to sing and dance together with Namika. The adults also join in and so the day develops into a happy, loud music festival. In her video
ALLES WAS ZÄHLT - BONUSFOLGE - GUTES TUN, Namika later reports on her visit and says that music has always helped her in difficult situations and that she wants to pass something on and give something back.

DSC07842 ©bastimowka.jpg
MB1_1272.jpg

2019

Female POWER WITH SHE'S MERCEDES
INTERCULTURAL EXCHANGE

The ABURY Foundation and She's Mercedes share a vision of a globalised world where intercultural understanding is key to unlocking potential and strengthening solidarity. "To spread this idea, we have designed a unique experience: an inspiring trip for women to Marrakech", Andrea Bury's second home.  "We are creating an environment where women from different cultural backgrounds can connect and exchange ideas, share experiences and learn from each other. An environment where conversations, new perspectives and touching experiences are created." The experience is exceptionally intense for all participants and new friendships are formed in only a short time. The highlight of the trip is the visit to Douar Anzal together with Moroccan Olympic champion and Laureus World Sport Award Ambassador Nawal El Moutawakel. A great honour for the entire region, which is duly celebrated.

2020

PROTECTION FROM COVID-19
With the onset of the worldwide CORONA pandemic, the ABURY Foundation has also had to drastically limit its activities abroad. Nevertheless, donations are of course still being collected and projects planned. In order to protect the children of the ABURY school in Douar Anzal from COVID-19, ABURY ensures that the Moroccan hygiene rules are implemented: Masks are distributed, donated fever-measuring devices are used at the entrance of the school, as well as a disinfection column. Everywhere in the country there is a "sanitary state of emergency", even domestic travel is only allowed with a special permit. At the end of December, the news that King Mohammed VI had ordered his government to provide all citizens and resident foreigners with free vaccination against COVID-19 gave cause for hope that it will soon be possible to enter Morocco again and see the ABURY protégés again.

IMG-20200918-WA0006.jpg

2020

NEW IN THE TEAM
The ABURY Foundation team has been joined in 2020 by Britt Heß and Heike Janssen. Heike lives in Berlin and met Andrea Bury in the late 90s while working on sponsoring projects. In 2002, she became self-employed and accompanied the founding of the Tribute to Bambi Foundation for Hubert Burda Media. During this time, she gained a lot of valuable experience and contacts, which she now contributes. Britt also lives in Berlin and meets and works closely with Heike as a communications and project manager for the Tribute to Bambi charity event. During this time, she also meets Andrea Bury at a fundraising event. Since 2019, she has been working as a freelance entrepreneur, brand ambassador and mentor for a green lifestyle brand, creating a network for sustainability.

150.jpg

THE ABURY FOUNDATION STORY IN PICTURES

10 years of work for a fairer world

DIE ABURY FOUNDATION STORY

150.jpg

2011

GRÜNDUNG DER ABURY FOUNDATION
Als Andrea Bury 2007 zum ersten Mal nach Marrakesch kommt, um ein altes Haus in der Altstadt zu renovieren, ist sie schnell fasziniert von den außergewöhnlichen Fähigkeiten der Kunsthand-werker*Innen. Sie taucht ein in die Kultur und lernt die Menschen kennen. Sie entdeckt viel Wunderbares, aber sie wird auch sehr schnell mit den Herausforderungen des Landes konfrontiert, zum Beispiel mit der hohen Analphabetenrate überwiegend bei den Frauen und vor allem bei denen, die auf dem Land leben. Bei ihnen beträgt sie bis zu 70 Prozent. Zudem nehmen Frauen am Arbeitsleben nur wenig teil und sind somit abhängig. Ein großes Problem sind außerdem die Billigimporte, die zu einem Preisverfall des Handwerks führen. „Es ist so unfair, dass Menschen mit so wundervollen Fähigkeiten keine Möglichkeit haben, sich damit einen Lebensunterhalt zu verdienen.“, geht Andrea durch den Kopf. Sehr am Herzen liegt ihr dabei die Stärkung der Rolle der Frau und die Schaffung einer gerechteren Welt durch soziales Unternehmertum und Partnerschaft auf Augenhöhe. 2011 ist es dann soweit und sie gründet die ABURY Collection GmbH und die ABURY Foundation gGmbH. Mit der ABURY Collection GmbH lässt sie hochwertige Designer-Accessoires von den KunsthandwerkerInnen in Marokko produzieren und verkauft sie international. Von dem Gewinn reinvestiert sie 50 Prozent über die ABURY Foundation gGmbH in Bildungs- und Community-Projekte für die Menschen und Gemeinden vor Ort.

2011

ERSTES INTERKULTURELLES BILDUNGSPROJEKT
Die entlegenen Berberdörfer im Atlasgebirge Marokkos sind verstreut, größtenteils isoliert und gerade Frauen und Kindern fehlt der Zugang zu Bildung und Austausch. Deshalb startet die ABURY Foundation gemeinsam mit der Organisation PENCILS FOR KIDS eine interkulturelle Projektwoche an der Schule der Gemeinde Douar Anzal. Neben verschiedenen Workshops, welche die Kreativität der Kinder fördern sollen, stehen Malen, Fotografieren und miteinander Spielen für die einheimischen Kinder und ihre Gäste aus den USA und Spanien auf dem Programm. Im Rahmen der Projektwoche wird eine Bibliothek mit gespendeten Kinderbüchern, Schulmaterialien, Notizbüchern und Stiften eingerichtet. Jedes Kind nimmt als Andenken an diese Woche voller Spaß, Gelächter und neuer Freundschaften ein gerahmtes Foto mit nach Hause.

IMG_1124.JPG
Untitled-1.jpg

2012

AUSBILDUNGSZENTRUM LEDERSTICKEREI
Zwecks Bekämpfung der hohen Jugend-arbeitslosigkeit in Marokko richtet die ABURY Fopundation 2011 in Marrakesch ein Ausbildungs-zentrum für junge Frauen ein, in dem ein Schneider-Ehepaar sie die traditionelle Lederstickerei lehrt. 2011 und 2012 erhalten hier 20 Mädchen und junge Frauen die Möglichkeit, Grundlagen für eine langfristige Anstellung zu erwerben.

2013

ALPHABETISIERUNGSPROGRAMM FÜR FRAUEN
Als die ABURY Foundation 2012 anfängt,  im Atlasgebirge Marokkos tätig zu werden, führt sie eine Studie zum Thema Bildungsniveau durch. Ein Ergebnis besagt, dass 80 Prozent der Frauen dort Analphabetinnen sind. Deshalb etabliert sie im Dorf Douar Anzal ein Alphabetisierungsprogramm für Frauen, das bis heute besteht. Mit Hilfe des gemeinnützigen Projekts LABDOO, das IT-Spenden sammelt und damit Menschen ohne Zugang zu Computern Bildung in diesem wichtigen Bereich ermöglicht, können die Programmteilnehmerinnen das Erlernte am Computer üben und damit mit den neuen Technologien in Verbindung treten.

323.jpg
Captura de ecrã 2015-11-27, às 15.40.2

2013

GRÜNDUNG EINER VORSCHULE
Die Bildungsniveau-Studie der ABURY Foundation ergibt auch, dass bei Kindern zwischen 6 und 16 Jahren die Ergebnisse positiver ausfallen als bei den Erwachsenen: über 90 Prozent gehen zur Schule. Vorschulerziehung gibt es jedoch nicht mit der Folge, dass viele Kinder unvorbereitet die Schule beginnen und sie nach nur sechs Jahren auch wieder verlassen, um zu arbeiten. Daher das insgesamt niedrige Bildungsniveau. “Deshalb haben wir in Douar Anzal eine Vorschule gegründet - zunächst mit 12 Kindern”, so Andrea Bury.  “2016, zählen wir schon 32 Kinder in unserer Klasse, weitere 25 aus benachbarten Dörfern stehen auf der Warteliste. Unser Lehrer bestätigt, dass die Kinder aus unserer Vorschule die besten Schüler in der Grundschule sind. Sie träumen davon, Ärzte oder Anwälte zu werden.” 

2014

STÜHLE FÜR DIE SCHULE
Seit der Gründung der ABURY Foundation Schule in Douar Anzal melden mehr und mehr Eltern ihre Kinder dort an, so dass 2014 sogar die Sitzgelegenheiten knapp werden. Dank der Spenden zahlreicher Unterstützer*Innen erhält die Schule neue Stühle. Das Besondere an dieser Aktion: alle Stühle werden von den Schulkindern bunt bemalt und mit den Namen der Spender beschriftet. Ganz nach dem Motto: farbenfroh sitzen und fröhlich lernen für einen glänzenden Start in eine bessere Zukunft!

stuhlaktion_andregaspar.png
2013-08-30 15.02.32.jpg

2014

ERSTES UMWELTPROJEKT
Wie überall auf der Welt stellen auch im marokkonischen Atlasgebirge wachsende Plastikmüll-Berge in Kombination mit fehlenden Entsorgungssystemen ein echtes Problem dar. Deshalb startet die ABURY Foundation im September die Umwelt-Initiative “Halte Dein Dorf sauber!”, die vor allem darauf abzielt, schon bei Schulkindern Bewusstsein für die Themen Umweltschutz und Nachhaltigkeit zu schaffen. Und das sowohl im Unterricht als auch während gemeinsamer Müll-Sammel-Aktionen, die mittlerweile sogar spielerische Wettbewerbe sind. Wer den meisten Müll sammelt, gewinnt. Und zwar die Bewunderung und den Respekt der Mitschüler*Innen.

2015

BRUNNEN-EINWEIHUNG
Viele Gegenden im Atlasgebirge Marokkos haben einen niedrigen Grundwasserspiegel, was die Trinkwasserversorgung enorm erschwert. Frauen und Kinder laufen täglich bis zu fünf Kilometer zur nächsten Trinkwasserquelle, so dass wenig Zeit für Bildung und entlohnter Arbeit bleibt. Deshalb beschließt die ABURY Foundation den Bau eines Brunnens in Douar Anzal. Vier Jahre vergehen von der Analyse der Wasserqualität in Zusammenarbeit mit INGENIEURE OHNE GRENZEN bis zur Montage einer umweltfreundlichen Solarpumpe. “Bei der feierlichen Einweihung ist das ganze Dorf auf den Beinen”, berichtet Andrea Bury, die natürlich anwesend ist und ein Rede hält. “Unser Dank geht vor allem an Hamid Ouffata. Seine Spende und sein unglaubliches technischen Wissen haben den Bau erst möglich gemacht.”

featured image.jpg

2015

ZAHNARZTBESUCH IN DER SCHULE
In Marokko leiden 42,2 Prozent der Kinder im Alter von 12 Jahren bereits an Parodontitis. Diese Zahnfleischerkrankung ist auf einen hohen Zuckerkonsum verbunden mit nachlässigem Zahnputzverhalten zurückzuführen, was häufig von den Eltern vorgelebt wird.* Deshalb besuchen Heike und Holger Janssen gemeinsam mit ihren Kindern die ABURY Foundation Schule in Douar Anzal und bringen 180 Zahnbürsten und ebenso viele Tuben Zahnpasta mit: “Wir sind angereist, um die schulische Bildung zu ergänzen um Themen wie Zahnhygiene und Ernährung. Wir wollen mit den Kindern und deren Eltern besprechen, welche Konsequenzen der hohe Zuckerkonsum hat und was Zahncreme bewirkt. Außerdem lernen sie von uns, wie man Zähne richtig putzt.” Holger ist nämlich Zahnarzt und hat zu diesem Zweck das Zahnkrokodil mitgebracht. So kommt die weit verbreitete Angst vorm Zahnarzt gar nicht erst auf. Bei Holger und Heike stehen nämlich der Spaß am Lernen und die gegenseitige Hilfe im Vordergrund.

“Atlas Dental - Afrika 2020” | GFDI

2015

PORTRAID - FOTOGRAFIE VERBINDET
Zusammen mit dem berühmten Werbefotografen Thomas Rusch ruft die ABURY Foundation das Kunst-Charity-Projekt PortrAID ins Leben. Die Idee ist simpel: Ein bekannter Fotograf macht ein Portrait eines Menschen in Not, die ABURY Foundation verkauft das Unikat und hilft mit dem Erlös dem Portraitierten direkt bei der Lösung seines Problems.
Die Initialzündung zu dieser Idee kommt Andrea bei einem ihrer Museumsbesuche in Marrakesch: dort werden Kunstwerke zu Gunsten der Stiftung ARTISANS SANS CATARACT verkauft. Der Erlös ermöglicht an Grauem Star erkrankten Kunsthandwerkern kostenlose Operationen. Augenkrankheiten stellen ein großes Problem in Marokko dar – über 45.000 erkrankte Menschen erblinden pro Jahr, da sie sich die Operation nicht leisten können. Weitere Informationen zu diesem und anderen Projekten in Marokko und Äthiopien sind auf der
Website von PortrAID erhältlich.

© ilyastriba+thomasrusch__ITP9874.jpg
©_ThomasRusch__MG_0635.jpg

2016

SCHULRUCKSÄCKE VOLL MIT HOFFNUNG
Dank der großzügigen Spenden der ABURY Foundation Unterstützer*Innen starten die Kinder des Berberdorfes Douar Anzal mit einem farbenfrohen Rucksack ins Schuljahr 2016. Die über BETTERPLACE.ORG 2015 ins Leben gerufene Initiative #givebackPACKS zaubert 30 glücklichen und stolzen Schulkindern ein Lächeln ins Gesicht und bringt sie auf ihrem Weg in eine hoffnungsvolle Zukunft ein Stück voran.

2016

STREET ART TRIFFT TRADITION

Verschmelzen wir langsam zu einer globalen Identität, die unsere einzigartigen und schönen kulturellen Unterschiede aushöhlt? Wie wirken sich diese Veränderungen auf unsere Zukunft und auf die Zukunft unserer Generationen aus? Diese Fragen schwirren durch Andreas Kopf, als sie 2008 nach Marrakesch kommt. Für Andrea ist jede handgefertigte Berberbag ein Symbol für das kulturelle Erbe Marokkos, das durch Konsumerismus verloren zu gehen schien - jede ein kleines Stück kultureller Identität, das nicht mehr geschätzt wird. So entsteht das Kunstprojekt „Pass on the Flame“, das 2016 bei der MARRAKECH BIENNALE ausgestellt wird. Andrea will wissen, was moderne, junge Künstler heute darüber denken. Sie startet eine Kooperation mit MB6 STREET ARTISTS und Vestalia Chilton, Gründerin und Direktorin der Kensington + Chelsea Art Week. Sechs Street Artists erhalten eine Berberbag zusammen mit einem Brief von Andrea und den oben genannten Fragen. Die Künstler werden aufgerufen, die Taschen zu bearbeiten und hier ihre Gedanken zu dem Thema kulturelle Identität in der Zukunft darzustellen - quasi die „Weitergabe der Flamme“. So entstehen sechs außergewöhnliche Einzelstücke, die zuerst ausgestellt und dann zugunsten der ABURY Foundation versteigert werden. Außerdem kommen die Künstler mit nach Douar Anzal und gestalten auch die Schule zu einem Kunstwerk um.

P5181789Eva Padberg in der Schule.JPG

2016

BESUCH VON EVA PADBERG
Als Topmodel und Designerin Eva Padberg und Andrea Bury sich zufällig über einen gemeinsamen Freund kennenlernen, ist eines sofort klar: sie teilen die Ansicht, dass Mode ethisch produziert sein sollte. Und so folgt Eva der Einladung von Andrea, sich die Arbeit der ABURY Foundation vor Ort anzusehen: “Als ich Eva mit in unsere Schule bringe, sind alle aus dem Häuschen, Kinder wie Erwachsene. Eva begeistert alle mit ihrer Art, auf Menschen zuzugehen.” Und so ist bald ein Dorffest im Gange. Es wird viel gesungen, gelacht, getanzt, gegessen und geredet. “Das ist unser Ziel, Austausch und Verständigung zu fördern”, freut sich Andrea Bury.

2016

RADELN FÜR DEN GUTEN ZWECK
Da staunen die Schulkinder in Douar Anzal: Besucher kommen normalerweise mit dem Auto ins Dorf und haben zuvor in einem Flieger gesessen, um nach Marokko zu reisen - nicht so Marcus Lehman, ein Berliner Sporttherapeut, der die ganze Strecke innerhalb von sechs Wochen auf dem Rad zurücklegt, um unterwegs Spenden zu sammeln für die Kinder des Dorfes. Sein Ziel ist der Bau eines Sportplatzes und die Integration von Sportstunden in den Unterrichtsplan der Schule. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, unterrichtet er sogar den Lehrer, Lahcen Ididi. Aber Marcus hat noch mehr im Gepäck: neben jeder Menge gute Laune und Ideen für Spaß beim Sport bringt er den Kindern auch Sportgeräte und -kleidung mit. Und eines steht fest: in den Trikots mit Abzeichen von bekannten Mannschaften wie dem französischen Erstligisten Paris St. Germain fühlen sich die stolzen Kinder wie die Fußballstars von morgen - Fußball spielt in Marokko nämlich eine große Rolle. Motivation genug, um den Sport in ihren Alltag zu integrieren. “Neben der Ausbildung von Kindern kümmern wir uns natürlich auch um ihre Gesundheit”, so Andrea Bury.

_MG_5912.jpg
DS_Teppich_intern.jpg

2017

DOROTHEE SCHUMACHER UND DIE BERBER-TEPPICHE
Das Weben von Berber-Teppichen hat in Marokko eine lange Tradition, die über die Generationen weitergegeben wird. So lange sie sich erinnern können, stellen auch die Frauen von Douar Anzal handgewebte Teppiche her. Sie sind begeistert von der Idee, mit ihren Fähigkeiten ein eigenes kleines Unternehmen zu gründen und damit selbstständig und unabhängig zu werden. Gesagt, getan: die ABURY Foundation findet mit der deutschen Designerin Dorothee Schumacher eine Partnerin, welche die Frauen von Douar Anzal nicht nur mit ihrem Fachwissen, sondern auch mit einer Spende für einen Webrahmen unterstützt. Ihre Designs werden von den Marokkanerinnen in wunderschöne, traditionell handgewebte Berber-Teppiche umgesetzt, welche fortan die Showrooms von Dorothee Schumacher schmücken. Eine tolle Werbung für den Verkauf dieser qualitativ hochwertigen marokkanischen Handwerksprodukte.

2018

NAMIKAS MUSIKSCHULE
Vielen Kindern in Marokko und anderswo wird nicht erlaubt, ihre Kreativität frei zu leben, obwohl die Entfaltung von künstlerischem Talent so wichtig für ihre Entwicklung ist. “Deshalb wollen wir eine Musikschule gründen und haben Namika, eine bekannte deutsche Rapperin mit marokkanischen Wurzeln gebeten, uns dabei zu helfen.” Andreas Ankündigung sorgt für Ausnahmezustand in Douar Anzal, denn so ein HipHop-Star ist schon etwas ganz Besonderes. Die Kinder lieben Musik und können es gar nicht abwarten, gemeinsam mit Namika zu singen und zu tanzen. Auch die Erwachsenen schließen sich an und so entwickelt sich der Tag zu einem fröhlichen, lauten Musikfest. In ihrem Video
ALLES WAS ZÄHLT - BONUSFOLGE - GUTES TUN berichtet Namika später von ihrem Besuch und erzählt, dass die Musik ihr in schwierigen Situationen immer geholfen hat und sie davon etwas weiter- und zurückgeben möchte.

DSC07842 ©bastimowka.jpg
MB1_1272.jpg

2019

FRAUENPOWER MIT SHE’S MERCEDES

INTERKULTURELLER AUSTAUSCH
Die ABURY Foundation und She's Mercedes teilen die Vision einer globalisierten Welt, in der interkulturelles Verständnis der Schlüssel ist, um Potenziale freizusetzen und Solidarität zu stärken. “Um diese Idee zu verbreiten, haben wir ein einzigartiges Erlebnis entworfen: eine inspirierende Reise für Frauen nach Marrakesch”, der zweiten Heimat von Andrea Bury.  “Wir schaffen eine Umgebung, in der sich Frauen mit unterschied-lichem kulturellem Hintergrund verbinden und Ideen austauschen, Erfahrungen teilen und voneinander lernen. Eine Umgebung, in der Gespräche, neue Perspektiven und berührende Erfahrungen entstehen.” Diese Erfahrung ist für alle Teilnehmerinnen außergewöhnlich intensiv und in nur kurzer Zeit bilden sich neue Freundschaften. Höhepunkt der Reise ist der Besuch in Douar Anzal zusammen mit der marokkanischen Olympiasiegerin und Botschafterin des Laureus World Sport Awards Nawal El Moutawakel. Eine große Ehre für die gesamte Region, die gebührend gefeiert wird.

2020

SCHUTZ VOR COVID-19
Mit dem Beginn der weltweiten CORONA-Pandemie muss auch die ABURY Foundation ihre Auslandsaktivitäten drastisch einschränken. Dennoch werden selbstverständlich weiterhin Spenden gesammelt und Projekte geplant. Um die Kinder der ABURY Schule in Douar Anzal vor COVID-19 zu schützen, sorgt ABURY für die Umsetzung der marokkanischen Hygieneregeln: Masken werden verteilt, gespendete Fiebermessgeräte kommen am Eingang der Schule zum Einsatz, ebenso eine Desinfektionssäule. Überall im Land herrscht der “sanitäre Ausnahmezustand”, auch Inlandsreisen sind nur mit einer Sondergenehmigung erlaubt. Anlass zur Hoffnung, dass die Einreise nach Marokko und damit ein Wiedersehen mit den ABURY Schützlingen bald wieder möglich ist, bietet Ende Dezember die Nachricht, dass König Mohammed VI den Auftrag an seine Regierung gegeben hat, allen Staatsbürgern und ansässigen Ausländern einen kostenlosen Impfschutz gegen COVID-19 bereitzustellen.

IMG-20200918-WA0006.jpg

2020

NEU IM TEAM
Das Team der ABURY Foundation bekommt 2020 mit Britt Heß und Heike Janssen Zuwachs. Heike lebt in Berlin und lernt Ende der 90er Jahre im Rahmen ihrer Tätigkeiten für Sponsoring-Projekte Andrea Bury kennen. 2002 macht sie sich selbständig und begleitet für Hubert Burda Media die Gründung der Tribute to Bambi Stiftung. Sie sammelt in dieser Zeit zahlreiche wertvolle Erfahrungen und Kontakte, die sie nun einbringt. Britt lebt ebenfalls in Berlin und lernt als Kommunikations- und Projektmanagerin im Rahmen der Projektleitung für die Charity-Veranstaltung Tribute to Bambi Heike kennen und arbeitet eng mit ihr zusammen. In dieser Zeit trifft sie auch Andrea Bury bei einer Spenden-Aktion. Seit 2019 arbeitet sie als freie Unternehmerin, Markenbotschafterin und Mentorin einer Green-Lifestyle Brand und schafft ein Netzwerk für Nachhaltigkeit. 

150.jpg

DIE ABURY FOUNDATION STORY IN BILDERN

10 Jahre Arbeit für eine gerechtere Welt